I Remember

I remember the first time,

I felt death,

when my grandpa died.

The air was thick

and hard to breath,

it was choking me.

I remember how

his lifeless body

was pale as a scared

little boy wanting his mommy.

I remember the tears on

my mother’s new blouse

how the room was filled with

light, but still felt dark.

I remember watching him

get lowered into the

dark lifeless pit, feeling

scared, sorry for the things

I never did.

I remember wishing

that his rotting body

would come to life again.

Leave a Reply

