“How I Would Paint” Excerpts

1. How I Would Paint the Past

A novel with 1,000 pages,

ready to be opened; approached.

2. How I Would Paint Death

A promise rings that everyone wears.

3. How I Would Paint Love

A mother tightly holding her child;

two brothers standing side-by-side in the rain.

3. How I Would Paint Anger

A slow, painful cut that never ends,

hitting you piece-by-piece.

Getting hit by a car with no mercy.

1. How I Would Paint Life

A long road of darkness with a white dot

at the end of it. But the dark road is

really thin, black ice.

How I Would Paint the Present

Long strokes of the past,

a variety of color.

Treat each canvas, from start to finish,

as my last.

Leave a Reply

