Smokey Death

I was young when death surprised me.

I never felt such a combination of anger and depression.

The smell of smoke was so strong

I could taste it on my tongue.

I have never seen someone so close to death

smile so brightly–with generosity and concern

for others still in her heart and full of love.

I will never forget her soft slowing voice,

that touched my ears with a sound like silk,

getting increasingly lower until the light

that shined so bright had finally

faded out like a battery with no charge.

She died.

Even when she’s gone, she stays in my heart,

and in my mind like a catchy tune I can never forget.

She remains forever a symbol of love.

Leave a Reply

