My Voice

My voice is deep not soft

it is low not high

My voice is different

it makes me feel alive

My voice is powerful and calm

like the fish in the sea

My voice will be joyful

when I get free.

 

 

 

My voice is not sweet like Kool-aid. No.

Not no candy, not no sugar, not no brown sugar. No.

It is the sound of spitting game. Yes.

It is years in the making. Yes.

It is not low like a whisper and it is not loud like a party. No.

It is the sound of courage, and it is the sound of suave. Yes.

It is not blaring. It is not calm. No.

It is Southern. It is me. Yes.

Leave a Reply

